Lee’s upcoming film is another major studio project for the Taiwanese-born filmmaker. It stars Will Smith and will be using Industrial Light and Magic “de-aging” on Smith. It doesn’t seem like Lee has regained his artistic footing with “Gemini Man.” A real shame, if you ask me, as American cinema could sure use him at the summit of his powers right about now. Maybe opportunities for actual humane drama in the industry have just rendered him to become a paycheck guy. “Ang Lee’s career has been a rather odd one. Of course, the greatness of his peak years (1994-2005) can never be underestimated: “Sense and Sensibility,” “The Ice Storm,” “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon,” and “Brokeback Mountain.” Post-2005? It’s been a little more up and down. I really liked “Lust, Caution” but many felt it was the beginning of Lee’s dip into lower quality cinema. I can’t say I disagree with that assessment, especially when it comes to “Taking Woodstock,” “Life of Pi,” (which I liked) and “Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk,” all major studio films that had Lee’s poetic style stripped for more mainstream affairs.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy