However, during the last weekend of Sundance, I had heard rumblings that a movie called “Relic” may have been the best horror title of the 2020 fest. I managed to find a publicist, on a Saturday no less, to sneak me into the final screening of this Australian-American horror movie. Although not in the same league as the very best of the genre, Natalie Erika James’ directorial debut will please plenty of genre fans this summer, hungry for new fare during the COVID-19 lockdown. Starring Emily Mortimer and produced by Jake Gyllenhaal, the film, much like “Hereditary,” deals with haunted genetics, following a daughter (Emily Mortimer) troubled by the disappearance and sudden reemergence of her elderly mother (Robyn Nevin). I won’t say more about the plot, the less you know the better. “Relic” is expected to have its VOD premiere on July 10. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy