What particularly interests me is Tarantino’s criticism of François Truffaut’s films: “[Chabrol’s] thrillers are drastically better than the abysmal Truffaut-Hitchcock movies, which I think are just awful. I’m not a Truffaut fan that much anyway. There are some exceptions, the main one being ‘The Story of Adele H.’ But for the most part, I feel about Truffaut like I feel about Ed Wood. I think he’s a very passionate, bumbling amateur.” Tarantino comparing Truffaut to Ed Wood is … an opinion. I guess those darts shot at Truffaut in the “Once Upon A Time in Hollywood” novel were quite possibly Tarantino’s own opinions on the legendary French filmmaker. Here’s an excerpt from the novel where Tarantino explain’s character Cliff Booth’s disdain for Truffaut: I’m not a fan of “Jules et Jim,” but knocking on “The 400 Blows” is sacrilege. That’s one of the greatest movies ever made. Truth be told, Truffaut has had plenty of misses in his career, but I’ll always abide by the church of “The 400 Blows,” “Shoot the Piano Player,” “Day For Night” and “The Wild Child.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy