The 6 titles that were listed on our list: “Bardo” (Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu)“RMN” (Cristian Mungiui)“Tori et Lokita” (Jean-Pierre et Luc Dardenne)“The Stars at Noon” (Claire Denis)“Decision to Leave” (Park Chan-wook)“Triangle of Sadness“ (Ruben Ostlund) The ones I “missed” (although I wouldn’t really include any of these in the top 40 (except for maybe Kore-eda and Panahi). “Untitled” (Jafar Panahi)“Broker” (Hirokazu Kore-eda)“One Fine Morning” (Mia Hansen-Love)“Holy Spider” (Ali Abassi)“Brother and Sister” (Arnaud Desplechin)“Close” (Lukas Dhont)“Scarlet” (Pietro Marcello) You see what I mean? I’m hoping the year brings forth some surprising new filmmakers on the world scene, but if many of you are wondering why Cannes has such a “weak” lineup (which I disagree with), then you can look no further than the fact that there really aren’t that many marquee filmmakers with new films this year. Compare to last year when you had new films by Carax, Verehoeven, Farhadi, Weerasethakul, Sorrentino, Sciamma, Almodovar, Noe, Audiard, Trier, Lapid, Hansen-Love, Hamaguchi, Ozon, Dumont, Hong, Desplechin … Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy