However, I know a talent when I see one, and Robert Eggers is just that. You can tell that he’s the real deal by the way he framed “The Witch” and built up that dreaded atmosphere. Another filmmaker in that same league would be “Hereditary” master Ari Aster. A teaser trailer for his second feature has just been released and it looks delectably insane. Aster has assembled a strong cast, especially the amazing Florence Pugh (“ Lady Macbeth”). A24, is producing and, despite all that, we still don’t have that many concrete details about the film, except for, in Aster’s own words, the description of it being an apocalyptic breakup movie. Here is the synopsis: A couple’s vacation to a Swedish village takes a sinister turn when the insular townspeople invite them into a series of rituals that render their pastoral paradise increasingly unnerving, in this dread-soaked and viscerally disquieting psychological thriller. “It’s Scandinavian folk horror,” Aster said, “[It’s] the only other horror movie I have.” But, despite all the praise he’s received from fans, the director may not be returning to the genre that launched his career again anytime soon. “I love the genre, I consider myself a genre filmmaker in that I want to play in every genre. I would love to make a musical. I have ten other scripts that I’ve written that I want to make and there are other things I have. I’m writing a sci-fi film and there are at least four or five movies that I have ready to go that I am excited about making that I’d like to do in succession.” A24 will release “Midsommar” on August 9, 2019. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy