The film seems to be a personal one for Baumbach, having gone through his own divorce with actress Jennifer Jason Leigh back in 2010, shortly after their son was born. He spoke [via IndieWire] about how that experience with Leigh helped shape him creatively for “Marriage Story.” “It’s extremely personal for me, but it really became this thing where I felt like everybody was bringing themselves to it.” He continued, “Because I’ve gone through a divorce and also been through it as a child, there are things from my experience that of course, I could draw from.” Scarlett Johansson and Adam Driver star as the parents and former couple going through divorce in “Marriage Story.” And today, Netflix, who is distributing the film, released dueling trailers showing both sides of the on-screen relationship. A sort of “he-said-she said” reveal. In a statement, Baumbach said of the two-pronged trailers,  “MARRIAGE STORY is a love story that reveals itself within the breakdown. With these companion trailers, I wanted to show the relationship through the eyes of both characters. There are many sides to every story, and the movie embraces these different viewpoints in order to find the shared truth.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy