It is now the turns of Ken Loach and Fernando Meirelles to bash the mighty corporate greed of Marvel. If anything, these are far worse comments than what Scorsese ever dreamed of saying [via Variety] : “They’re made as commodities…like hamburgers,” Loach said about Marvel films. “It’s about making a commodity which will make profit for a big corporation. They’re a cynical exercise. They’re a market exercise, and it has nothing to do with the art of cinema.” Loach won the Palme d’Or twice at Cannes, so he may know a thing or two about “cinema.” Joining Loach in the criticism of Marvel is Meirelles, “I can’t disagree with Scorsese because I don’t watch [Marvel movies]….I watched a ‘Spider-Man’ eight years ago, and that was it. I’m not interested.” However, Mereilles, the Brazilian filmmaker of the classic gangster film “City of God”, added that he is fond of a particular Marvel movie “It doesn’t mean it is bad. I don’t know if it’s Marvel, but I watched ‘Deadpool,’ the first one, and it was very good. Amazing action sequences. Then I tried to watch ‘Deadpool 2’ on a plane. I watched, like, half an hour and gave up.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy