The film is supposedly three hours long now. Oddly enough, I’ve been told by a few people to expect to be disappointed by this wackadoodle project. I don’t buy it, I’m sure there will be some fascinating things in this film, but what exactly? What exactly has Ari Aster created here? What I do know is that it’s about a man afraid of the people around him, especially his mom, who randomly punches homeless people and dreams about VERY ODD things (my source would rather I not divulge the specifics, but it’s wild). The film sounds unique, dreamy, surreal and unexplainable. Oh, and it stars the ever-fascinating Joaquin Phoenix, an actor whose unpredictability, on and off the screen, has turned him into one of the most important actors of the 21st century. I was told at Cannes that the film had a four-hour cut, but now I’m hearing it’s been trimmed down to a little less than three hours. The budget is said to have slightly risen to an estimated $60 million — it’s A24’s most expensive production ever. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy