Fraser finally made a triumphant comeback this year with his performance in Darren Aronofsky’s “The Whale,” and, by all accounts, he’ll probably get Oscar and Golden Globe nominations for his work. However, he tells GQ that, if nominated, he won’t attend the Globes ceremony: “I have more history with the Hollywood Foreign Press Association than I have respect for the Hollywood Foreign Press Association … No, I will not participate .. It’s because of the history that I have with them. And my mother didn’t raise a hypocrite. You can call me a lot of things, but not that.” The organization still has never apologized, according to Fraser, but the HFPA disputes his claim saying they have sent two apologies down Fraser’s way. Berk, who still denies Fraser’s allegations, has acknowledged writing a letter to Fraser where he basically stated there was no wrongdoing, but if he done anything to upset him, it was not intended and apologies were in order. It’s a sordid affair that gets at the core of a toxicity that’s been firmly implanted within the industry for decades. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy